Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
HomeNCISS Awards
Background Image URL //

NCISS Awards

Each year, prior to the Annual Conference, select committees comprised of past recipients of each Award, forward their nominations to the Awards Committee Chair. Nominations for all the Awards include a brief account of the service and contributions given to the profession by the nominee which qualifies him or her for the Award nomination. Once nominations have been made, circulated and discussed, the committees vote and a winner is selected. The Awards are presented at the Annual conference.

For a list of past recipients, please click on the John J. Duffy Memorial Achievement Award

Named for our first President (1976-1978), John J. Duffy of Davenport, Iowa, founder of Per Mar Security Services, the "Duffy" is the Council’s highest honor. The award is presented every other year to an NCISS regular member, “who by their specific deeds and accomplishments has exhibited the highest standards of conduct and service to the private investigation and security service industries.” In alternate years the “Duffy” is awarded to a person or entity outside the regular membership, who for their specific service, heroism or other exemplary deed is being honored by the Council.

For a list of past recipients, please click on the Wayne J. Wunder Memorial Award

The Wayne J. Wunder Memorial Award is given annually in memory of the late Wayne J. Wunder, security pioneer and founder of Continental Secret Service in Toledo, Ohio, as well as past President of NCISS (1984-1985). The award recognizes exceptional contributions to NCISS by members who characteristically are not in the forefront in terms of recognition.

For a list of past recipients, please click on the Vinson Award

The Vinson Award for Outstanding Service is presented annually, since 2012, to an elected Director, Committee Chair, or other member in recognition of outstanding leadership, dedication, and service to NCISS, in memory of Joseph D. Vinson, Sr. and in appreciation for service to the Council of other Vinson executives.